of Gluten-Free Diet
Below is a list of foods that are allowed on your gluten-free eating plan, as well as those that should be omitted. It is not a complete list. Please discuss your individual needs with your doctor and/or dietitian.
Guide to Breads and Grains For Celiacs
Eat about 6+ servings each day
Foods To Eat
Breads or bread products made from corn, rice, soy, arrowroot corn or potato starch, pea, potato or whole-bean flour, tapioca, sago, rice bran, cornmeal, buckwheat, millet, flax, teff, sorghum, amaranth, and quinoa.
Hot cereals made from soy, hominy, hominy grits, brown and white rice, buckwheat groats, millet, cornmeal, and quinoa flakes.
Pure corn tortillas, cornmeal, hominy, grits, popcorn; potatoes, potato chips.
Rice, rice noodles, and pastas made from allowed ingredients. Some rice crackers and cakes, popped corn cakes made from allowed ingredients.
Foods To Avoid
Breads and baked products containing wheat, rye, triticale, barley, wheat germ or bran, graham, gluten or durum flour, wheat starch, oat bran, bulgur, farina, wheat-based semolina, spelt, kamuto. Cereals made from wheat, rye, triticale, barley, and oats; cereals with added malt extract and malt flavorings. Pastas made from ingredients above. Most crackers.
Gluten-Free Food Tips
Use corn, rice, soy, arrowroot, tapioca, and potato flours or a mixture instead of wheat flours in recipes. Experiment with gluten-free products. Some may be purchased from your supermarket, health food store, or direct from the manufacturer.
1 slice bread
Please Note: The above advice about Celiac diet and eating habits is offered for general educational purposes only. If you suffer from gluten intolerance, please consult your physician for specific personal dietary advice.
OBESITY, OVERWEIGHT and